My First Boyfriend

I’m a sucker for classy gents photographed in black and white.

He embarrassed me a few times,

ate sandwiches with me,

and gave my family a dogwood tree from his nursery.

Like his older sister Mary, he was a devoted gardener.

His name: Joe.

Here’s a picture of him at Pearl Harbor:

DSC06499

Here’s a picture of us together:

DSC06551

(Pardon my big brother in the way and those in the background.)

Now before you think this is some sick joke,

just know that my dear Uncle Joe called me “his little girlfriend”.

He broke it off when I was six saying I was too old for him,

but I still called myself his little girlfriend.

He always smiled when I did. He lived in Georgia.

In the navy, Uncle Joe’s “buddie” told him about a girl back home by the name of Helen.

The buddie gave Uncle Joe her address and the two became avid pen pals.

They became so thick that older sister Mary (or Grandma to me) took a vacation to Mountain City, Tennessee to visit Helen and her family.

DSC06501

(From left: Mary Evelyn a friend – Helen – Mary my grandma)

DSC06513

Joe and sister Mary 1943

Good old Uncle Joe proposed…

before he had even met Helen face to face.

After they met and made plans, Uncle Joe showed Helen to his mother in Florida.

Big mistake.

Great Grandma threw a fit like a Texas hailstorm in January.

She had picked out her own match for Joe,

and it wasn’t Helen.

Needless to say, Helen became Aunt Helen.

And four kids later, they became a big family.

I don’t remember ever meeting Aunt Helen.

But if she stole my Uncle’s uniformed heart,

she must have been as good as gold.

Published by

Cat

I am a 7-year-old​ stuck in a twenty-something's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., AiO, OBPC, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

