Treadle Cat Open for Business

You don’t realize how ignorant you are until you stoop to asking Google.

Although, I suppose I can only speak for myself.

I’m the sort of person who throws the directions aside and figures out how something works by trial and error.

After several errors, I might flip through the booklet scanning for pictures and toss it back away if there are none.

Unfortunately, our 1912 treadle sewing machine didn’t come with an instruction manual, pictures or no pictures.

Sitting down to the old beauty, mom and I tried it out, rocking our feet back and forth, only to discover that the needle went backward more times than it went forward!

“Something must be wrong,” Mom said.

The treadle said, “It’s not me. It’s you.”

But of course we can’t understand the language of inanimate pieces of machinery, so we searched the world wide web.

It turns out, most YouTubers are just as ignorant as we are and have terrible video taking skills.

Finally, we happened upon a gem: a horridly ancient “double-u, double-u, double-u, dot” that was probably set up with a hotmail account. If you’d like to see it, click here for the link.

After taking the thread out and experimenting with some fabric, I discovered the importance of rhythm and keeping one hand ready to spin the fly wheel in case of a backwards stitch.

Fast forward, the treadle sewing machine is now residing at Mohican Wilderness Campground in a little shop (after much hauling, grunting, and nervousness).

DSC06479Since transporting it, I’ve sewn several small articles, demonstrated the process, and kept my foot alongside little girls who wish to try it. One dad sat down and rotated the pedal so fast that his daughters gasped in terror,

“Don’t break it, Daddy!”

Now that the treadle is here, I can officially say that “Treadle Cat” is open for business.

❇Elephants and frogs ready to be stuffed with love❇

DSC06730

❇Make-it-yourself-on-the-treadle drawstring bags❇

(I don’t have a picture of my sample one yet. Two kids have made them.)

❇Friendship bracelets where each button represents a friend❇

DSC06463

❇Glass magnets, and many, many buttons to choose from❇

DSC06466

Treadle Cat Open for Business.

Published by

Cat

I am a 7 year old stuck in a teenager's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., tFotR, AiO, tTT, OBPC, tRotK, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

