Listen

The whirr of blurred fan blades.

The shrill purr of cricket song.

A spontaneous call of a dog three blocks down.

The mesh of tire rubber on the brick street.

These are sounds that I’m hearing right now.

I also hear the clacking of black computer keys and a crunchy scratch on my head. I hear the whispering cloth of my clothes as I adjust my position in my seat.

A bug of some kind rattles outside.

Every sound seems to come alive and shows itself in the forefront of my mind.

They want to be heard.

The fan spins with purpose. The insects communicate with each other.

And if a tree falls in a forest there really is always Someone there to hear, because not a sparrow falls without His knowledge of it. Every hair on my itching head is numbered.

Stopping to think about sounds makes me ponder the wonder of noise.

Sound waves bounce or become absorbed.

Notes carry across bodies of water.

Silence is never really there because you can hear yourself breathe.

I am so thankful for noises.

Sounds.

Music.

And voices.

My voice.

My Mom and Dad’s voices.

My Grandpa’s voice I have recorded telling how he and Grandma met.

.

.

Just stop reading for a moment, close your eyes, and listen.

.

.

What did you hear?

.

Tell me.

.

I’m listening.

SC-LISTEN

Published by

Cat

I am a 7 year old stuck in a teenager's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., tFotR, AiO, tTT, OBPC, tRotK, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

