The Sounds of Children’s Theatre

In a three-door garage, among the hum of fans, kids and adults alike mumble with purpose or confusion. Hushes, louder than the offending whispers, quiet the kids and call for attention.

Some kids have the gift of projection and powerful lungs. Others, with shyness or inexperience, speak their lines with soft expression.

Our director begins the sacred speech of projection. Some time during every show it always comes along.

Some of these kids I’ve heard in play, and I know what those little lungs can do. Why is it that some clam up yet others glory at the thought of an audience and a spotlight?

As for myself, I was the glorying type and sopped up the attention like a sponge. I could articulate enough for the oldest ear without a microphone. Now that I’m older, and hopefully a little wiser, I resist the urge to gloat in glory. The spotlight fades, and after all it is just a big light bulb.

I love the theatre, and watching these kids get the same start I had warms my heart to no end.

If you can, come out and see our little show:
Bedbugs – October 16th and 17th at the Mount Vernon Developmental Center Great Room Theatre. (More details coming soon.)

Published by

Cat

I am a 7 year old stuck in a teenager's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., tFotR, AiO, tTT, OBPC, tRotK, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

