Stop Looking Inside My Desk

Every week Kingdom Pen sends out an e-mail with a photo prompt contest. The winner is featured in the next e-mail. A few weeks ago, my short story “Mary and the Cane” won for the week!

Well, this week I won again.

I greatly enjoy writing these 250-words-or-less short stories! They are short, sweet, and excellent experimental material. Tell me what you think!

What story would you tell with this picture?

unnamed-3

Dr. Morgan’s body has not yet been found.

I suppose I am the type of person to jump to conclusions, but when a person goes missing and there is no trace of him for two months wouldn’t you think he’s dead too? I don’t know if the doctor had any enemies to speak of, but he wasn’t what you would call a genial man.

The police pestered me with millions of questions, “How long have you worked for him?” “When did you last see him?” “What was the last thing you heard him say?”

One week, May the first, and “Don’t talk so loud”.  

I’ve only kept on in the office for this long because the police think he may still be alive, and I’ve found plenty to clean to keep busy.

Today I’ve decided to tackle his desk. There is something sacred about a dead man’s desk. Of course there are those who believe he’s still alive, but I’ve always been the type to jump to conclusions.
Where to start?

Right or left? The top drawer or the bottom drawer?

I decided on the right side, top drawer. Crumpled napkins, a coffee stained mug, and a filthy ashtray cluttered the inside. I left it open and crossed the room for the wastebasket.

Upon my return, I found the top right drawer closed.

A lone folded paper lay on top of the desk. My eyes flitted about the small, empty office. I unfolded the paper.

“Stop looking inside my desk.”

Published by

Cat

I am a 7-year-old​ stuck in a twenty-something's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., AiO, OBPC, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

