Earth Out My Window

unnamed-2

“Hey diddy dee,

A kitty’s in the tree,

Don’t climb high,

You’ll skin your knee.”

Her breath blew into my hair.

“Iym puddle diddy,

Hey diddy dee.

The sun sets low

On the big blue sea.”

She swayed with the words in an even, slow cadence.

“High puddle

Low puddle

Hey diddy dee,

Tell me true,

Do you love me?”

Her soft lips pressed the top of my head. Warm air from her nose rustled my hair.

“Some day, Xavier,” she said, holding me close. “You will see a tree. Maybe a kitty cat too.”

“Hmm,” I said.

“Yes, you’ll like kitty cats.” She rubbed her cheek against my head. “They say, ‘Meow meow’, and they have hair all over.”

“Emm hmm!” I said.

“Oh, yes, they are very soft.” She shifted her weight and turned us away from the window.

“Eh ahh!” I protested. I wanted to see the Earth.

“Now, Xavy, you know its time for moon rise.”

Yes.

I knew.

I knew everything.

“High puddle

Low puddle

Hey diddy dee,

Tell me true,

Do you love me?”

Published by

Cat

I am a 7-year-old​ stuck in a twenty-something's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., AiO, OBPC, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

