Mound View Cemetery – my happy place

Mound View Cemetery

Long have I walked among the stones

They taught me how to read

I rode my bike along the roads

With Daddy guiding me

 

He took me up to “Dirt Bomb Hill”

We played with clods of soil

He led us to the old oak tree

Where squirrels often toil

 

Some days rounding the last bend

Un-pocket chosen stones

Racing, kicking them along

While beneath lay silent bones

 

The yard was always peace to me

Until sweet Caroline

Baptized in holy water

Drank communion wine

dsc05510

dsc05506

Published by

Cat

I am a 7-year-old​ stuck in a twenty-something's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., AiO, OBPC, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

Leave a Reply

