Psalm 23

So, recently the book of Psalms has been popping up in my life a lot. In my poetry class, we had an assignment to write a “between the lines” poem. Not that I pretend to be anything like David, but this exercise helped me creatively look at this old familiar poem in a new way.

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want.

With Him I have all I need.

He makes me lie down in green pastures;

In the calm of the morning,

He leads me beside quiet waters.

With songs He reminds me I’m alive.

He restores my soul.

Without Him, I am nothing.

He guides me in paths of righteousness,

Out of sheer joy and pleasure,

For His name’s sake

He smiles as we become one.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

When torturous mysteries surround me,

I will fear no evil,

I reach out and feel your warmth

For you are with me

My protector, my guide, my God,

Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Despite my meager humility,

You prepare a table before me

We feast together as kings.

In the presence of my enemies

I can stand shameless and proud

You have anointed my head with oil

I am one of your chosen.

My cup over flows

Your generosity never ceases.

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me,

Even when I turn confused,

All the days of my life

Until my last given breath.

And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

 

With Him I have all I need.

In the calm of the morning,

With songs He reminds me I’m alive.

Without Him, I am nothing.

Out of sheer joy and pleasure,

He smiles as we become one.

When torturous mysteries surround me,

I reach out and feel your warmth

My protector, my guide, my God,

Despite my meager humility,

We feast together as kings.

I can stand shameless and proud

I am one of your chosen

Your generosity never ceases

Even when I turn confused.

Until my last given breath.

Published by

Cat

I am a 7-year-old​ stuck in a twenty-something's body. I enjoy long walks on the beach and peanut butter on waffles. If the following combinations of letters mean anything to you: OYAN, LotR, F.R.O.G., AiO, OBPC, DIY Then we can be friends. And if not, we still can be friends!

One thought on “Psalm 23”

Leave a Reply

